Wish me luck! (Read 3699 times)
Tracey
Share Bear

We grow stronger through
our suffering

United Kingdom
Wish me luck!
Apr 25th, 2007 at 4:41pm

I'm in the process of applying for a new job. †I am soooooo unhappy in my current role and have been hanging in on there for redundancy (which will come) and had a lightbulb moment on Monday when I realised that "something has got to change".

I work in IT (software automation testing for american payroll application - bit boring I know, sorry Allen if you are reading this Smiley) and my company was taken over by a very big American Company (no offense to those over there) a few years ago. †It has all changed and the stress levels are unbearable. †I work on team of four and the most composed of them all handed his notice in on Monday because of the stressful working conditions and unrealistic deadlines we are now set for our releases. †I immediately paniced with thoughts that more work and I can't cope with what I have. †I cried all the way home that night in my commute.

My husband has been away abroad for a week and came back thankfully last night. †We have talked about my work situation and the "block" that has always been between us has finally come down. †He has always wanted me to stay in IT because of the high income, and has found it difficult to understand that I want to do work that is more meaningful and in a caring profession, even though I didn't really know where that was going....?

I saw a job today advertised at our local council for a support worker for families and children. †The money is less the job is a lot nearer (i commute 45 mins each way a day). †It honestly sounds right up my street.

I have now updated my CV with all the courses I have been on through the adoption route (attachment disorder) and what I am currently doing one weekend a month (Transactional Analysis) and my application is ready to be handed in tomorrow.